You are here: News 2005

10.06.05: The IMC-UNESCO Music Prize goes to Mikis Theodorakis.

Since 1975, UNESCO and the International Music Council (IMC) have awarded the IMC-UNESCO Music Prize. Since 1994 Aachen has been the permanent venue for the prize-giving ceremony.

Worldwide the IMC-UNESCO Music Prize has established itself as one of the most important awards in the field of music. It is given to individuals and institutions whose activities have contributed to an enrichment and further development of music but who, at the same time; have served and continue to serve understanding between peoples, international cooperation and other goals proclaimed by the United Nations Charter and the UNESCO Constitution.

The award consists of a document, the UNESCO Picasso Miró-Medaille and the sum of 2,500 Euros. The prize-winners are chosen by the Director-General of UNESCO on the recommendation of an international jury.

Olivier Messiaen, György Ligeti, Iannis Xenakis, Emmanuel Nunes, Leonard Bernstein, Herbert von Karajan, Yehudi Menuhin, Daniel Barenboim, Claudio Arrau, Maria Joăo Pires, Gidon Kremer, The International Bach Academy, Ravi Shankar, Cesaria Evora, Mercedes Sosa, Miriam Makeba, Oscar Peterson, Kwabena Nketia, Alim Qasimov, Oumou Sangaré, Center for Traditional Music Oman and Youssou N'Dour are among previous winners.

We just learned that this year the IMC-UNESCO Music Prize goes to Mikis Theodorakis.

Our sincere and hearty congratulations, dear Mikis!

| Printer-friendly page | Send this article to a friend |