You are here: Works Chamber Music

"Little Suite" for Piano (1954)

The first draft of the Little Suite was made in 1948, in Ikaria, during the composer's exile during the civil war.

The occasion of the work's composition is described in the second volume of the biographical Archangel's Path, which (according to the composer), was designed to reveal the life experiences that moulded him as a composer and as a man.

The Little Suite was first composed for two violins and cello.

Later, in 1955 in Paris, Theodorakis made an arrangement for solo piano which he dedicated to his friend, the pianist Vasso Devetsi, who was later to become the president of the Maria Callas Institute.

Translated by Tatiana Papageorgiou

Composed: 1.8.-5.8.1954 in Paris - First draft: 1948, Icaria
1. Poco allegro - Piu mosso
2. Lento
3. Allegro molto marcato
4. Andante mosso
Creation: 23.2.1958 at Wigmore Hall, Londres
Vasso Devetsi, piano

| Printer-friendly page | Send this article to a friend |